I wanted to say Happy Thanksgiving to you all! Did you know that in 1943, Norman Rockwell, a well-known American artist, produced a series of four paintings entitled “Four Freedoms” which were inspired by Franklin D. Roosevelt’s State of the Union Address, known as Four Freedoms, delivered on January 6, 1941?

Here is an excerpt from that speech and the four paintings Rockwell produced, which I thought I’d share. The series of paintings ran in The Saturday Evening Post accompanied by essays from noted writers on four consecutive weeks: Freedom of Speech (February 20), Freedom of Worship (February 27), Freedom from Want (March 6), and Freedom from Fear (March 13). Eventually, the series was widely distributed in poster form and became instrumental in the U.S. Government War Bond Drive.

In the future days, which we seek to make secure, we look forward to a world founded upon four essential human freedoms.

The first is freedom of speech and expression.

The second is freedom of every person to worship God in his own way.

The third is freedom from want. (This one resonates during our Thanksgiving holiday)

The fourth is freedom from fear.

That is no vision of a distant millennium. It is a definite basis for a kind of world attainable in our own time and generation. That kind of world is the very antithesis of the so-called new order of tyranny which the dictators seek to create with the crash of a bomb.

— Franklin D. Roosevelt, excerpted from the State of the Union Address to the Congress, January 6, 1941

Here are the four paintings from Norman Rockwell.

I hope you enjoy and have a wonderful, Happy Thanksgiving!

Freedom of Speech

Freedom of Speech – Norman Rockwell 1943

Freedom of Worship

Freedom of Worship – Norman Rockwell 1943

Freedom of Want

Freedom of Want – Norman Rockwell 1943

Freedom of Fear

Freedom of Fear – Norman Rockwell 1943